Blog Archive

Saturday, March 06, 2010

The 15th Annual Fortnightly Film Awards Winners

Best Film

The White Ribbon

Runner up: In the Loop

Documentary/Non-Fiction Feature

The Cove, Louis Psihoyos

Documentary Short

Muhammad and Larry, Bradley Kaplan and Albert Maysles

Animated Film/Puppet/Stop Motion Feature

Up, Pete Docter and Bob Peterson

Best Direction

Katheryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker

Best Actor (Female)

Melanie Laurent, Inglorious Basterds

Best Actor (Male)

Viggo Mortenson, The Road

Best Supporting Actor (Female)

Mo’nique, Precious

Best Supporting Actor (Male)

Peter Capaldi, In the Loop

Best Ensemble Cast

The Hurt Locker, Director: K. Bigelow Casting by: Mark Bennett


Moon, Nicholas Gaster

Documentary/Non-Fiction Editing

Anvil, Andrew Dickler and Jeff Renfroe

Adapted Screenplay

In the Loop: Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, and Tony Roche

Original Screenplay

A Serious Man: Joel Coen and Ethan Coen


The White Ribbon: Christian Berger

Art Direction (Contemporary)

The Hurt Locker: David Bryan

Art Direction (Fantasy)

Watchmen: Fancois Audouy, Helen Jarvis, and James Steuart

Art Direction [Historical]

A Serious Man: Deb Jensen

Costume (Contemporary)

Precious: Marina Draghici

Costume (Historical/Fantasy)

Where the Wild Things Are: Casey Storm

Sound Design


Sound Editing


Original Score


Adapted Score

A Serious Man

Visual Fx


On Set Special FX

Terminator Salvation

Supporting/Secondary FX

The Road


Where The Wild Things Are


The Road

Voice-over/voice performance

James Gandolfini, Where The Wild Things Are

Title/Graphic Design Sequence


Original Song

“Stu’s Song,” The Hangover


Where the Wild Things Are

One Sheet Poster Art

Teaser/Wildpost/ misc. Poster

District 9

CGI/Motion Capture/Puppetry Performance


Performance by a Young actor:

· Kodi Smit-McPheeThe Road

Sam Fuller Award (for a film that defied or subverted the genre in which it was made): Pontypool

Robert Flaherty Award (a film which arouses Cultural/Global Awareness):

The Hurt Locker

Lewis Milestone Humanitarian Award (for a more peaceful world):

The Road

Ingmar Bergman Prize (For substantial Philosophical and Moral contemplation):

The White Ribbon

George A. Romero Award (Best Horror Film):


Rod Serling Award (Best Achievement in cinematic television ):

“Daybreak” Battlestar Galactica

Best Sci-fi Film:


Buster Keaton Award (Achievement in Comedy):

In the Loop

Peter Watkins Award (Social Activism):

The Yes Men Fix the World

Jim Henson Award (Enriching Family/Children’s Film):


James Whale Award of Merit (For a de-stigmatizing portrayal of mental health issues):

The Informant!

Rainer Werner Fassbinder Memorial Citation (for an honest portrayal of substance abuse or addiction):

The Hurt Locker

The Ecumenical Prize (Spiritual/Religious):

A Serious Man

First Feature:

District 9

Breakthrough Performer:

Zach Galifinakis (The Hangover, Up in the Air)

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Michael Snow


whitney said...

I was upset about Where the Wild Things are not getting nominated for best costume, but I kind of get it. It's hard to put that kind of art direction into a category. Is it a visual effect because of their faces? I'm just not sure. But obviously it was looked over for a lot of categories, including best soundtrack.

Anonymous said...

Genial post and this mail helped me alot in my college assignement. Thank you on your information.

Anonymous said...

Correctly your article helped me altogether much in my college assignment. Hats incorrect to you send, wish look progressive for the duration of more cognate articles soon as its united of my favourite question to read.